Managing and Disabling Automatic Windows Updates

Windows Update is a service that was installed alongside Windows XP that enables Microsoft to provide your PC with critical security updates. Microsoft has used Windows Update for other purposes as well, such as ensuring your software isn't pirated, pushing the latest feature updates for bundled applications, and deploying brand-new software to users of authentic Windows software.

Should I turn off Windows Update?

Typically, Windows Update is scheduled to run on your PC every night at 3:00 AM. Windows Update may inform you of updates, download them for you, or install them for you, depending on which settings you choose.

Turning off Windows Update is not recommended. By disabling Windows Update, you're preventing Microsoft from patching security breaches that hackers and spyware pushers could otherwise use to compromise your system. Instead of turning off Windows Update, consider modifying its settings so it's less intrusive to your day-to-day computing habits.

Sometimes, turning off Windows Update is desirable if you're trying to keep your PC in a static state. This is useful if you're developing and testing software or trying to recreate a bug.

Modifying Windows Update settings

You can change the way Windows Update behaves on your machine by accessing the Windows Update control panel. Open the Start menu, right-click on the "My Computer" icon, and choose "Properties". Navigate to the "Automatic Updates" tab. If you are concerned that Microsoft will attempt to push an upgrade to your PC that you do not necessarily desire, you should set Windows Update to the "Notify me but don't download or install them" option. However, this will cause Windows Update to nag you until you review the update options. The best option for convenience is the "Automatic" setting. This setting will allow Windows Update to seek out critical patches and install them for you without your involvement. If you wish to turn off Windows Update, you can choose the "Turn off Automatic Updates" option, but this exposes you to huge security risks.

Related content: